Skip to main content

Lavin Cup: The Equine Welfare Award of the AAEP

To recognize a non-veterinary organization or individual that has demonstrated exceptional compassion or developed and enforced rules and guidelines for the welfare of horses.

Specific information to include:

  • Length of service
  • Number of animals that have benefited
  • What barriers have been overcome
  • Small, sustained acts over a long period of time may equal one large impact
  • Nominees must be acceptable to the veterinary community

Nominations will be accepted from AAEP members, constituent organizations, and members of the equine community. Click HERE to download the nomination form.

Past Recipients:

2017                       Ryerss Farm for Aged and Retired Horses
2016                       Michael Blowen, Founder of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement Center
2014                       Robbie Timmons, Treasurer, CANTER USA
2012                       Christian Veterinary Mission
2010                       Society for the Protection of Animals Abroad
2009                       North American Equine Ranching Information Council
2008                       Hanover Shoe Farms
2007                       Finger Lakes Thoroughbred Adoption Program
2005                       Allan and Kathleen Schwartz, Days End Farm Horse Rescue
2004                       Herb and Ellen Moelis, Thoroughbred Charities of America
2003                       Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
2002                       Dayton O. Hyde
1999                       Tom Dorrance, Trainer
1998                       Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation, Inc.
1997                       American Quarter Horse Association
1996                       California Horse Racing Board