Skip to main content

Distinguished Educator Award (Academic)

To be awarded to an individual educator who by his or her actions and commitment has demonstrated a significant impact on the development and training of equine practitioners. Nominations are limited to individuals who at some time during their career served as a veterinary school instructor and who through their ability, dedication, character and leadership have played an important role in the educational and career development of students during their training. 

Nominations will be accepted from current AAEP members only. Click HERE to download the nomination form.

Past Recipients:

2019 Dr. W. David Wilson
2018              John A. Stick, DVM
2017 Peter Timoney, FRCVS
2016 Dennis Brooks, DVM, PhD, DACVO
2015 Virginia B. Reef, DVM
2014 Terry Blanchard, DVM MS DACT
2013 Frank Nickels, DVM
2012 Jill R. Johnson, DVM
2011 Jill Beech, VMD
2009 John T. Vaughan, DVM
  R. Dean Scoggins, DVM
2008 Timothy R. O’Brien, DVM
2007 James N. Moore, DVM
2006 Thomas J. Divers, DVM
2005 Charles F. Reid, DVM
2004 Robert M. Kenney, DVM
2003 Loren H. Evans, DVM
2002 John Fessler, DVM
2000 Albert Gabel, DVM
  Charles Raker, VMD
  John D. Wheat, DVM