Skip to main content

Distinguished Educator Award (Mentor)

To be awarded to an individual who by his or her actions and commitment has demonstrated a significant impact on the development and training of equine practitioners through mentoring. Nominations are limited to individuals who at some time during their career mentored veterinary students or veterinarians and by their ability, dedication, character and leadership have played an important role in the educational and career development of others in the profession. 

Nominations will be accepted from AAEP members, constituent organizations, and members of the equine community. Click HERE to download the nomination form. 

Past Recipients:

2018                        Richard Estes, DVM
2015                       John W. Lee, Jr., DVM
2013                       Barrie Grant, DVM MS DACVS
2008                       John V. Steiner, DVM DACT
2007                       Howard E. Gill, DVM
2004                       W. Leon Scrutchfield, DVM
2003                       Norman W. Rantanen, DVM PhD MS ACVR; A-O/ASIF International Foundation’s Veterinary Division
2002                       Ronald L. Genovese VMD
2001                       Robert Baker, DVM
                                 M.B. Teigland, DVM