The George Stubbs Award recognizes the contributions made to equine veterinary medicine by individuals other than veterinarians. The award is named for George Stubbs (1724-1806), the artist and teacher who played a vital role in veterinary education. He studied and taught anatomy at York Hospital in England, using detailed drawings as a guide to equine anatomy. His reference book, Anatomy of the Horse, published more than 200 years ago, is still universally recognized as an authoritative anatomical depiction.

Individuals eligible for this award are those persons who have not received a degree in veterinary medicine and do not practice veterinary medicine. However, the individual must have been directly responsible for performing an act or acts to benefit the field of equine veterinary medicine in any or all of the following areas:

  • Leadership
  • Public Service
  • Volunteer Service
  • Research Findings
  • Product Development
  • Public Policy Development
  • Animal Advocacy
  • Humane Education

The accomplishments may be based on a sustained effort or an extraordinary single achievement.


Nominations will be accepted from current AAEP members only. Click the button below to download the nomination form.

Past Recipients

James J. (Jay) Hickey - Former American Horse Council President

Waddell (Dell) Walker Hancock II - Chairman, Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation

Susan McDonnell, PhD - Equine Behavioral Researcher

John K. and Marianne Castle - Philanthropists

Roy and Gretchen Jackson and Michael Matz - Barbaro's Owners and Trainer
George Bagby, MD, MS - Orthopedic Surgeon

Edward L. Squires, PhD - Professor, Colorado State University

Gene Pranzo - Director, The Dorothy Russell Havemeyer Foundation

Kenneth L. Maddy - Former California State Senator

Duncan Alexander - American Live Stock Insurance Company

Gary L. Carpenter - AAEP Executive Director (1991-2000)

Paul Mellon - Philanthropist, Horseman
R. Richards Rolapp, Esq. - President, American Horse Council (1978-1993)