Skip to main content

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

DEI Committee Members 



  • Dr. Rachel Cezar-Martinez – Live Animal Imports Director for USDA-APHIS Veterinary Services, Faulkner, MD.

  • Dr. Betsy Charles – Executive Director of the Veterinary Leadership Institute and CEO of RadiologyRules, Murietta, CA.   

  • Dr. Liara Gonzalez – Assistant Professor of Gastroenterology & Equine Surgery, North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Raleigh, NC.

  • Dr. Eleanor Green – Senior Advisor & Consultant, The Animal Policy Group, Millsap, TX.

  • Dr. Aja Harvey – Associate Veterinarian, B.W. Furlong & Associates, Oldwick, NJ.

  • Dr. Rustin Moore – Dean, The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Columbus, OH.

  • Dr. Jean-Yin Tan – Senior Instructor, Equine Clinical Sciences, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

The Task Force developed Vision and Mission statements to guide their work as a group as well as the association's long-term efforts.

Vision Statement

The AAEP Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force will lead the AAEP's efforts to promote mutual respect for all within the equine veterinary community. We will provide AAEP members with information and resources to better understand and recognize the value and experiences of those belonging to diverse communities. We will ensure that there is continuous evolution of AAEP leadership and membership to accurately reflect society and facilitate improvements that best serve equine industry communities of all backgrounds, identities, and lived experiences. 

Mission Statement

The AAEP Diversity Equity and Inclusion Task Force's purpose is to recruit, advocate for, protect, and support all AAEP members who have experienced inequities and exclusion in the equine veterinary profession as a result of discrimination and oppression. We will make recommendations to the Board with the goal of educating the membership and creating permanent structural change to facilitate continual improvements in representation, safety, respect, inclusion, and equity.

To ask a question about the DEI Task Force's work, please contact Sally Baker, AAEP staff liaison, at