Skip to main content

Sage Kester Beyond the Call Award

The “Beyond the Call” award was named in honor of its first recipient, the late Wayne O. “Sage” Kester, DVM.  To recognize a current or former AAEP member who has made significant and long-lasting contributions to equine veterinary medicine and the community.  A successful nominee for the “Beyond the Call” award should not only possess the qualities of a leader with a strong commitment to the health and welfare of the horse, but also impact and improve the lives of others through service above self. 

Each nominee should have a record of active, meaningful involvement in the American Association of Equine Practitioners and dedicated service to activities that have made their community a better place to live. 

Nominations for the “Beyond the Call” award may be presented to the AAEP by any active AAEP member.  To ensure the award represents the highest honor bestowed by the AAEP upon a current or former member, it will not be awarded on an annual basis but only when a candidate of appropriate qualifications is presented for recognition.

Nominations will only be accepted from current AAEP members.  Click HERE to download the nomination form.

Past Recipients:

2022       Nathaniel A. White, II, DVM, MS, DACVS
2021       Larry R. Bramlage, DVM, MS
2020       Scott E. Palmer, VMD
2018       Thomas R. Lenz, DVM, MS, DACT
2017       Dr. Nancy Collins
2010       Charles Raker, VMD
1999       G. Marvin Beeman, DVM